Panjim Gymkhana Cricket League Kicks Off Today


Panjim Gymkhana Cricket League Kicks Off Today

Panaji Jan 2022: Goa’s one-of-a-kind T-20 tourney The Panjim Gymkhana Members League kicked off today at a colourful ceremony as players and team owners came together.

Team owners of the five participating teams – Iftikar Aga of Prescon Panthers, Krupa Kholkar of Manas Mavericks, Shrinivas Dempo of Dempo Challengers, Nandan Kudchadkar of LPK11 and Ashwin Chandoik of Baale Tigers released balloons into the air to mark the inaugural of the celebrated tournament in the presence of Manoj Caculo, President, Panjim Gymkhana and Rajesh Khaunte, Hon. Secretary, Panjim Gymkhana.

LPK 11 took on Prescon Panthers in the inaugural match. Anil Angle former joint secretary Panjim Gymkhana and the man who was a key architect in setting up cricket infrastructure in the city in the late 60s, tossed the coin which was won by Prescon Panthers.

Veteran cricket player, ex Ranji player and member of governing council of PGML, Suresh Mahadevan who is also the League Commissioner handed the ball to the umpires prior to the kick off of the inaugural match.

Manoj Caculo, President of Panjim Gymkhana speaking at the inaugural said, “This is the first time that a cricket league of this magnitude and scale is taking place in the state amidst a festive atmosphere. It’s a moment of pride for us to kick off this tournament at this picturesque historic ground at Panjim Gymkhana which is the pride of the city”.

Chief Guest for the ceremony Anil Angle said, “I am honoured to be invited for the coin toss ceremony by Manoj Caculo. In 1977 I was invited to bowl the first ball on this historic ground. It’s a great honour to be here again today.”

The matches will be screened live on YouTube

The PGML will run through the month and be held on weekends as the five teams battle for the top spot.
Located along the picturesque Mandovi River, the Panjim Gymkhana, established in 1963, has been recognized as one of the oldest and premier sports clubs and is considered as the nursery of cricket in the state.

[ays_slider id=1]

इसे भी पढे ----

वोट जरूर करें

गोव्यामध्ये कोणता पक्ष विजयी होणार ?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

आज का राशिफल देखें